N.C. Department of Environment and Natural Resources
 Welcome to the North Carolina Division of Air Quality

April 29, 2011



Marion Deerhake, Chair
Yvonne Bailey
Thomas F. Cecich
Stan L. Crowe
John Curry
Les Hall
Jeff Morse
Darryl D. Moss
Dr. David B. Peden
Stephen Smith


Sheila Holman


May 2011 Air Quality Committee Meeting

The Air Quality Committee is scheduled to meet in the Archdale Building Ground Floor Hearing Room from 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. on May 11, 2011. Please note that the meeting time is

9:00 A.M.*

* If any committee meeting conducts its scheduled business and adjourns prior to the estimated adjournment time, subsequently scheduled committee meeting may be called to order by its chairperson fifteen minutes after the previous meeting has adjourned.

Items marked with an asterisk (*) will be presented orally at the meeting only upon a request by a Committee member and can be approved where required as a group. Please call me at (919) 715-6290 if you wish to request an oral presentation of any item marked with an asterisk or if you have any other requests or questions on the Committee meeting or attachments. Items marked with a less-than sign (<) have no agenda item pages in this package. Please let Lois Thomas know if you will not be able to attend so that we may be assured of a quorum. The tentative agenda will include:

CALL TO ORDER (Marion Deerhake)

  1.  Call to Order and The State Government Ethics Act, N.C.G.S. § 138A-15(e)[PDF]

MINUTES (Marion Deerhake)

  1.  Review and Approval of January Meeting Minutes[PDF]


  1.  (This item has been removed)
    Use of Current Background vs. Natural Background in Modeling/Assessing Impacts Associated with Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) Permit Applications in Proximity to PSD Class I Areas (Speakers to be announced) (Action Item)






  1.  Sulfur Dioxide National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) Boundary Recommendation Options (Laura Boothe, DAQ)[PDF]Presentation[PDF]

  1.  Final Boiler Maximum Achievable Control Technology (MACT) Standards Update (Fern Paterson, DAQ) [PDF]

  1. * 1995-2011 Air Quality Committee and Environmental Management Commission Calendar[PDF]

  1. * Status of Rulemaking Hearings and Rule Development[PDF]

  1.  Greenhouse Gas Permitting Update(Donald Van der Vaart, DAQ)[PDF]

  1. *< Next Meeting July 13, 2011, (time to be determined)

Before each meeting, this tentative agenda and some attachments appear on the Division of Air Quality web site Public Notices. This web site also has many other useful features.

CC: Other EMC Members
Frank Crawley
Allen Jernigan
Dee Freeman
Robin Smith
Mary Penny Thompson
Dan Oakley
Diana Kees
Lois Thomas
Sheila Holman
Tom Mather

Don van der Vaart
Jim Roller
William Willets
John Evans
Lee Daniel
Lori Cherry
Gary Saunders
Michael Pjetraj
Brian Phillips
Donnie Redmond
Mike Abraczinskas
Laura Boothe
Joelle Burleson
Glenn Sappie
Vladimir Zaytsev
Patrick Knowlson
Reginald Jordan
Sushma Masmore
Regional DAQ Supervisors
Local Programs

Email us

Last Modified: Wed December 22 11:47:35 2010
 Visit the NCDENR web portal
Top of Page